NJ Council of County Colleges to Honor the State’s Top College Students

TRENTON, N.J.—The New Jersey Council of County Colleges will honor New Jersey’s 38 best and brightest community college students and their families at its 24th annual Phi Theta Kappa Day celebration on Thursday, May 3, at the Masonic Temple in Trenton, from noon to 2 p.m.

“Each year, the New Jersey Council of County Colleges (NJCCC) invites New Jersey’s top community college students and their families to celebrate their outstanding academic achievements and exceptional service to their communities as members of Phi Theta Kappa at their local community colleges,” said NJCCC President Aaron Fichtner, Ph.D. “The event, sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for community colleges, the Coca-Cola Foundation, and the New Jersey Education Association (NJEA), provides deserving community college students statewide recognition.”

In addition to honoring statewide student achievement, Phi Theta Kappa and the Coca-Cola Foundation have awarded nine scholarships to outstanding New Jersey students as part of the All-USA Academic Team competition.

As the New Century Transfer Scholar, Dorothy Helmken of Warren County Community College received a $2,250 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Foundation. As the New Century Workforce Scholar, Danielle Petrone of Sussex County Community College received a $1,250 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Foundation.

Edward Gaskin of Union County College and Aiza Nageeb of Ocean County College each received $1,500 scholarships for being named Coca-Cola Foundation All-USA Gold Medalist Scholars. Aamir Ali and Elda Pere of Bergen Community College and Jaida Schettino of County College of Morris each received $1,250 scholarships for being named Coca-Cola Foundation All-USA Silver Medalist Scholars. Victoria Cattelona of Brookdale Community College and Cledys Diaz of Hudson County Community College each received $1,000 scholarships for being named Coca-Cola Foundation All-USA Bronze Medalist Scholars.

The 2018 New Jersey All-State Academic Team members are:

  • Atlantic Cape Community College students Eric Middleton of Vineland and Ayesha Nawas of Galloway;
  • Bergen Community College students Aamir Ali of Elmwood Park and Elda Pere of Garfield;
  • Brookdale Community College students Victoria Cattelona of Long Branch and Karyssa D’Agostino of Tinton Falls;
  • Camden County College students Claudia Jablonski of Cherry Hill and Rebecca Keeny of Blackwood;
  • Cumberland County College students Felicia Miller of Vineland and Heather Willitts of Bridgeton;
  • Essex County College students Pyetra Camargo of East Newark and Dwayne Henderson of Newark;
  • Hudson County Community College students Cledys Diaz of Union City and Bianelly Tellez of Weehawken;
  • Mercer County Community College students Tamaryn Auld of Belle Mead and Austin Chee Kendall Park;
  • Middlesex County College students Vinnicius Coelho of South River and Katsiaryna Sikorskaya of East Brunswick;
  • County College of Morris students Alison Alloco of Gillette and Jaida Schettino of Sparta;
  • Ocean County College students Aiza Nageeb of Toms River and James Kelly of Brick;
  • Passaic County Community College students Luigia Russo of Paterson and Kimberly Steed of Wayne;
  • Raritan Valley Community College students Brooke Crane of Bound Brook and Christopher Melfi of Hillsborough;
  • Rowan College at Burlington County students Jourdin Dewberry of Willingboro and Christina Miller of Mount Holly;
  • Rowan College at Gloucester County students Alexander Koppel of Deptford and Kendra Nelson of Williamstown;
  • Salem Community College students Alyssa Von Ahnen and Diana Clark, both of Pennsville;
  • Sussex County Community College students Laura Allen of Stanhope and Danielle Petrone of Lafayette;
  • Union County College students Gissella Gamboa of Linden and Edward Gaskin of Rahway; and
  • Warren County Community College students Dorothy Helmken of Hackettstown and Matthew Miller of Washington.

In addition, 21 of New Jersey’s four-year colleges and universities have offered over $1 million in scholarships to Phi Theta Kappa students transferring to their institutions.

Phi Theta Kappa has recognized and encouraged scholarship among community college students for 100 years while promoting the academic integrity of the community college associate degree. Students with grade point averages of 3.5 or higher are invited to join Phi Theta Kappa.

The New Jersey Council of County Colleges is the state association representing New Jersey’s 19 community colleges. As an independent, trustee-headed organization that joins the leadership of trustees and presidents, the Council is a resource that strengthens and supports the state’s 19 community colleges.


Other News